Face Music – FM Suisse

 

– Albis Work




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016




Face Music (FM Suisse) – the idea was born out of the necessity to build bridges, for a better understanding of other cultures and minorities.

- Foundation of the association “Musik-Zirkus” 1978

The story began with some concerts in the canton of Thurgau in Eastern Switzerland, where “Albi” has chosen to establish his residence. It was there that the idea was realised to welcome artists in this region and revive the local scene; to create inspiration by encounters with artists from other regions and cultures; to establish a platform for young people, enriching their prevailing music taste; to foster inter-action with cultures and, hence, establish a better understanding thereof. Quality, however, has always played a central role, leading away from the cult with stars in huge concert halls, encouraging finding pleasure in listening to music in daily life in the countryside; gathering experience with sessions creating inter-action between artists and the audience. Music is supposed to retain its effect on other people, creating atmosphere; it is also ought to communicate a message. Music, however, may also be simply entertaining, or be fun; it should nevertheless never become “a consumer good for the masses”.

The first concerts were being hosted in smaller towns and villages in the region of Lake Constance, examples thereof being Frauenfeld, Kreuzlingen, Romanshorn, Sommeri, Wängi, and Weinfelden. International and national bands were invited to perform together with regional artists. The rather diverse music spectrum was covered by different types and styles of music. The concerts were hosted in different forms and at various places, such as village centres, halls, or open air in summer. Open airs with blues, jazz, rock, theatre and traditional music were performed on the same stage. A small market place with regional or local handicraft and catering was used to revive town life. Furthermore, also regional competitions with the participation of the audience were offered in order to stimulate artists to perform in a public competition – as this has been the case since the beginning of mankind, on the occasion of regional festivities, including encounters with tradition and customs and invited guests, this also constituting enrichment for the regions. Such competitions have been promoting a supra-regional network and, certainly, also development and creativity.

The programme of the “Musik-Zirkus” included from 1978 to 1981 as follows:

- National artists:
Adversus, Africana All Stars, Allegretto Quintett, Appenzeller Streichmusik Bänziger, Asphalt Blues Company, Belvedere, Bepejama, Beat Brechtbühl's Elephant, Bucks, Cameleon, Circus, Clips, Colletivo Teatrale, Dragon Fly, Exit, Frauenfelder Rock-Oper "Paul", Galgevögel, Gallis Erbe, Georges Tempest, Godot, Grauzonen-Express, Heinz Lieb Quartett, Hoity Toity, Infra Steff's Red Devil Band, Jazzforum Big Band Aarau, Jeff's Rhein Rockers, Trio KKK, Kifaru, Kjol, Lazy Poker Blues Band, Mano, Meridies, Off & Out, OM, Plamp, Markus Portenier Trio, Sic, Shaggy Dog Revival Band, Shivananda, Suspended Four, Tabasco, Theatergruppe Theogovia, TNT, Töbi Tobler, Uhuru Quintett, VAL 5, Yours Truly.

- International artists:
Baba Yaga (D), Crash (PL), Dave Burrell (USA), Déjà Vu (D), Changes (D), Imre Köszegi Group (H), Laboratorium (PL), Lumpenpack (D), Neighbours (A), Pekka Pohjola Group (FIN), Piirpauke (FIN), Rotglut (D), SBB (PL), Slawomir Kulpowicz Trio (PL), Smith-Kowald-Sommer (USA-D), Timeless (A), Vargavinter (S).

The organization was additionally supported by the active help of high school students, volunteers, regional musicians with media presence, and, of course, regional and supra-regional sponsors.

“Albi” has never lost contact with his old environment, and he is still participating in music performance series with "Musig am Määntig" at the University of Zurich, the “Fabrik-Jazz" in the Roten Fabrik in Zurich, and "Musig bi dä Lüüt" in Thalwil, where he now has his residence. Albi was the co-founder of the MKS, "MusikerInnen Kooperative Schweiz" (or "Swiss Musicians 'Cooperative"), which he has supported by way of the experience he has acquired and his network of international contacts.

- Foundation of the label "Face Music Switzerland – FM Suisse" 1987

"Albi" has remained true to his work with music and cultures up to the present day, and he has always taken seriously his attempts to build bridges to a development of bands having no infrastructure of their own and, hence, no interest groups supporting them, to assist them in their development through the experiences he has made. Concerts with artists from other cultures have included variety and diversity in the regional scene, and these have been warmly welcomed by the audiences. The tours and concerts have met a great demand therefore, this including also music recordings. This constitutes one of the reasons for the foundation of the label "Face Music Schweiz" – „FM Suisse“– this label ought to offer the opportunity to realize such projects. The Swiss music label still offers a varied international programme with original music having roots in rather different cultures.

We also started with jazz-rock or Fusion.

A first attempt at linking these styles was made in the mid-1960s by rock musicians from England, headed by "Colosseum", with the musicians Jon Hiseman and Dick Heckstall-Smith, and "Cream", with Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker, and the guitarist John McLaughlin. On the west coast of America it was Frank Zappa with his "Mothers of Invention" and other American groups such as "Blood Sweat and Tears" and "Chicago". The era of Fusion was directly influenced by the jazz side, first by the "Miles Davis Group", which included Herbie Hancock, the "Mahavishnu Orchestra", Joe Zawinuls' "Weather Report", Chick Coreas' "Return to Forever", or Tony Williams' "Lifetime".
In Europe it is worth recalling the "United Jazz & Rock Ensemble", Klaus Doldinger's "Passport", and the French artist Jean-Luc Ponty, and also the Polish influences should certainly not be forgotten: last but not least, to be mentioned are Zbigniew Seifert, Namyslowski, and the Cracow Collective "Laboratorium".

Nothing has changed so far. The music business still is on the search for the latest trend and up-to-date one-hit-wonders, something to attract the masses and easily market products in an economically pleasing way. For this reason, artists are forced to adapt to the manipulated taste of the masses in order to become popular. We all strive to gain our living, this is, we have to earn money to survive and to live in our present society. Individual ideas and experiences will not be accepted by the market, being pushed further into the background. It is all about so-called “nice products”! Only a few are successful to attract bigger audiences and survive and prevail. The majority will never leave the rehearsal rooms or pass regional borders. Increasing commercial demand and (ab)use limit the habitat of art itself. Marketing is invading the communication of art. Every active artist is in search of opportunities to process forms of expression with the audience. This is intended to contribute to an improvement of the existing quality of living in our society. In this regard, however, we are suppressed and limited by a prevailing opinion, only commercially successful performances will be accepted by the society, will succeed in finding sponsoring. This is a type of feudal system, a platform in grand style. Public subsidies are steadily being cut, which is why organizations have to change their strategies, have to cancel their projects due to a “lacking of funds”. The ever growing privatization of sponsoring has developed into a situation, in which financial support is only being granted if the project is considered an intellectual hobby, or if a project is of interest for the great masses and is warmly welcomed by the public, this is, if it becomes popular. Funds are only open to art, if such an investment will be financially rewarding, if it will raise prestige within the community.

We still hope that we, with our direct access to our repertory of productions offered to an interested and open-minded public, are still in the position to motivate and stimulate people to listen to these artists, to have pleasure in discovering something new, to show respect to the traditions of other cultures. We look for and are in need of a broad basis of music connoisseurs, who are willing to indulge in our carefully selected productions, and are willing to show their support. We also hope to continue to participate, in co-operation with our musicians, in a colourful and communicative music world. Tradition has been preserved in a closed culture, but now it is in search of bridges leading to a new and open-minded audience.

Publications are based on existing field research records, which have been revived or which are performed by the doyens of this type of music. Such documented recordings constitute the basis for projects leading to concerts or workshops, being then offered to a newer generation. This is a form of contribution to the preservation of customs and traditions on the basis of their roots, to offer insight to other peoples and cultures. Actually, such publications should be included in ethnological archives or in music schools, should be promoted and supported. But, also here, funds are being cut, departments in charge are being closed. The music industry itself is interested in the promotion of other aspects.

So far, this label has published music from Georgia, Armenia, the Ukraine, Egypt, Mongolia, Togo (Western Africa), Uganda (Eastern Africa), Brazil (Southern Brazil), Argentina, and Russia.

The collection comprises Slaw and Cossack songs, collected in Siberia, throat singing songs from Turk tribes and Mongols, songs of the Altai tribes, and so on. It furthermore includes a great amount of information on these peoples, their forms of living, and their rituals and rites; this information is attached in the booklet or may be found on our homepage; see, for example, history of the steppe nomads, ritual mask dance of the Buddhists (Tsam), handicrafts of various cultures, tengerism or shamanism (religions of the indigenous peoples), art of the steppe peoples, of the Mongols and in Buddhism, migration of the Bantu tribes, archaeological excavations in the European, Eurasian and Asian areas of the steppe nomads.

Up-to-date information in the web:

- Projects Face Music – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/projectsen.html
- Our friends – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/ourfriends.html
- Ten Years Face Music –1987 bis 1997 – http://face-music.ch/catalog/tenyears_facemusicinfo.html
- Review Face Music – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/review_face.html
- Current tour projects – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/tourprojects.html

Thalwil, end of March 2012 – translated by Hermelinde Steiner

98

Albi 19800


Albi 19880


Albi 19980


Albi 2006


Albi 2008


Albi 2010 – Berlin

PageTop

Face Music – FM Suisse

 

– Albis Work




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German


Face Music (FM Suisse) – die Idee entstand aus der Notwendigkeit, Brücken zu bauen, zum besseren Verständnis für andere Kulturen und Minderheiten.

- Gründung des Vereins „Musik-Zirkus“ 1978

Es begann mit Konzerten im Kanton Thurgau in der Ostschweiz, der Wahlheimat von „Albi“. Hier wurde die Idee in die Praxis umgesetzt, Künstler in die Region zu holen und mehr Leben in eine lokale Szene zu bringen; Anregungen zu schaffen durch Begegnungen mit Künstlern aus anderen Regionen oder Kulturen; eine Plattform für Jugendliche mittels bestehender Hörgewohnheiten zu bereichern; Begegnungen mit Kulturen zu fördern und damit ein besseres Verständnis zu diesen zu schaffen. Qualität war dennoch gefragt, ein Weg weg vom Kult mit Stars in grossen Hallen. Musik geniessen zum alltäglichen Leben auf dem Land. Erfahrungen sammeln mit Sessions, die Impulse zwischen Künstlern und Publikum schaffen. Musik soll ihre Wirkung auf andere Menschen behalten, mit Stimmung, und sie soll eine Botschaft kommunizieren. Musik darf auch mal unterhaltsam sein oder witzig, soll aber nicht einfach zum „Massenkonsumgut“ verfallen.

Erste Konzerte fanden in kleineren Städten und Dörfern in der Region um den Bodensee statt, Beispiele dafür sind Frauenfeld, Kreuzlingen, Romanshorn, Sommeri, Wängi und Weinfelden. Internationale und nationale Gruppen wurden zusammen mit regionalen Artisten zu Konzerten eingeladen, um gemeinsam aufzutreten. Das Spektrum der Musik wurde mit verschiedenen Stilrichtungen abgedeckt. Die Konzerte hatten verschiedene Formen und viele Standorte, wie Dorfzentren, Aulen, und im Freien während des Sommers. Open Airs mit Blues, Jazz, Rock, Theater und traditioneller Musik waren auf ein und derselben Bühne zu finden. Ein kleiner Markt zur Belebung mit Handwerk aus der Region und Catering. Ausserdem fanden regionale Qualifikationsausscheidungen für das nationale Jazz- und Rock-Festival statt. Ein Wettbewerb mit Publikumsbeteiligung, der die Künstler anspornen sollte, Erarbeitetes im öffentlichen Wettbewerb vorzutragen - wie dies seit Urzeiten in regionalen Festen zu Begegnungen mit Brauchtum und Tradition und mit geladenen Gästen eine Bereicherung der Regionen brachte. Solche Wettbewerbe förderten ein überregionales Netzwerk und natürlich die Entwicklung und Kreativität.

Im Programm „Musik-Zirkus“ waren vertreten von 1978 bis 1981:

- Nationale Künstler:
Adversus, Africana All Stars, Allegretto Quintett, Appenzeller Streichmusik Bänziger, Asphalt Blues Company, Belvedere, Bepejama, Beat Brechtbühl's Elephant, Bucks, Cameleon, Circus, Clips, Colletivo Teatrale, Dragon Fly, Exit, Frauenfelder Rock-Oper "Paul", Galgevögel, Gallis Erbe, Georges Tempest, Godot, Grauzonen-Express, Heinz Lieb Quartett, Hoity Toity, Infra Steff's Red Devil Band, Jazzforum Big Band Aarau, Jeff's Rhein Rockers, Trio KKK, Kifaru, Kjol, Lazy Poker Blues Band, Mano, Meridies, Off & Out, OM, Plamp, Markus Portenier Trio, Sic, Shaggy Dog Revival Band, Shivananda, Suspended Four, Tabasco, Theatergruppe Theogovia, TNT, Töbi Tobler, Uhuru Quintett, VAL 5, Yours Truly.

- Internationale Künstler:
Baba Yaga (D), Crash (PL), Dave Burrell (USA), Déjà Vu (D), Changes (D), Imre Köszegi Group (H), Laboratorium (PL), Lumpenpack (D), Neighbours (A), Pekka Pohjola Group (FIN), Piirpauke (FIN), Rotglut (D), SBB (PL), Slawomir Kulpowicz Trio (PL), Smith-Kowald-Sommer (USA-D), Timeless (A), Vargavinter (S).

Die Organisation wurde durch aktive Unterstützung von Mittelschülern, freiwilligen Helfern, regionalen Musikern mit Medienpräsenz und natürlich von regionalen und überregionalen Sponsoren zusätzlich unterstützt.

Den Kontakt zur alten Heimat hat „Albi“ nicht verloren und arbeitet zusammen an Serien mit "Musig am Määntig" an der Universität in Zürich, "Fabrik-Jazz" in der Roten Fabrik in Zürich, und "Musig bi dä Lüüt" in Thalwil, in seiner heutigen Wohngemeinde. Albi war Mitgründer von MKS, "MusikerInnen Kooperative Schweiz" (oder "Swiss Musicians 'Cooperative"), welcher er mit seinen Erfahrungen und internationalen Kontakten zur Seite stand.

- Gründung des Verlages "Face Music Switzerland – FM Suisse" 1987

"Albi" ist seiner Arbeit mit Musik und Kulturen bis zum heutigen Tag treu geblieben und hat seine Bemühungen, Brücken zu einer Entwicklung von Gruppen zu schlagen, die keine eigene Infrastruktur besassen und die noch keine sogenannte "Lobby" hatten, diesen mit seinen Erfahrungen zur Seite zu stehen, stets sehr ernst genommen. Konzerte brachten mit Künstlern aus anderen Kulturen eine Abwechslung in die regionale Szene und wurden dankbar vom Publikum angenommen. Die Tourneen und Konzerte bewiesen eine lebhafte Nachfrage, auch nach Tonträgern. Ein Grund, warum der Verlag "Face Music Schweiz" – „FM Suisse“ gegründet wurde – man wollte hier solche Projekte in die Tat umsetzen. Der Schweizer Musikverlag bietet heute immer noch ein internationales Programm mit Original-Musik und deren Wurzeln aus verschiedenen Kulturen.

Auch wir begannen mit Jazz-Rock oder Fusion.

Ein erster Versuch, diese Stilrichtungen miteinander zu verbinden, wurde Mitte der 1960er von Rockmusikern in England unternommen, allen voran „Colosseum“ mit den Musikern Jon Hiseman und Dick Heckstall-Smith sowie „Cream“ mit Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker und dem Gitarristen John McLaughlin. An der amerikanischen Westküste waren es Frank Zappa mit seinen „Mothers of Invention“ und andere amerikanische Gruppen wie „Blood Sweat and Tears“ und „Chicago“. Die Ära der Fusion wurde direkt durch den Jazz beeinflusst, zuallererst durch die „Miles Davis Group“, zu welcher auch Herbie Hancock gehört, dem „Mahavishnu Orchestra“, Joe Zawinuls „Weather Report“, Chick Coreas „Return to Forever“ oder Tony Williams' „Lifetime“.
In Europa waren es das „United Jazz & Rock Ensemble“, Klaus Doldingers „Passport” und der französische Künstler Jean-Luc Ponty; aber auch die polnische Bewegung sollte nicht vergessen werden, dazu gehören Namen wie Zbigniew Seifert, Namyslowski und „Laboratorium“ das Krakauer Kollektiv.

Bis heute hat sich nichts geändert. Das Musikgeschäft neigt weiter zu Trendigem, Schnelllebigen, eben um die Massen zu begeistern und Produkte gewinnbringend auf den Markt zu bringen. Dadurch sind Künstler gezwungen, sich dem manipulierten Geschmack anzupassen, um populär zu werden. Wir alle stehen irgendwie unter Erwerbszwang, d.h. wir müssen Geld verdienen, um zu überleben und damit in unserer Gesellschaft zu bestehen. Eigene Vorstellungen und Erfahrungen werden nicht immer vom Markt getragen und deshalb weiter und weiter in den Hintergrund gedrängt. Dabei geht es um sogenannte „Nischenprodukte“! Nur wenigen gelingt es, grössere Kreise zu begeistern und dabei zu überleben und sich durchzusetzen. Vieles bleibt in den Proberäumen oder in der Region hängen. Steigende kommerzielle Nachfrage und Nutzung rauben der Kunst ihren Lebensraum. Marketing hält Einzug in die Kunstvermittlung. Jeder aktive Künstler ist auf der Suche nach Möglichkeiten zur Verarbeitung von Ausdrucksformen mit Publikum. Man will dabei zu einer Verbesserung der bestehenden Lebensqualität in der Gemeinschaft beitragen. In diesem Zusammenhang aber wird man von einer vorherrschenden Meinung unterdrückt und zurückgebunden; nur kommerziell erfolgreiche Darbietungen werden von einer Gemeinschaft getragen und finden Sponsoren. Moderner Hofadel, eine Plattform mit Glanz & Gloria. Staatliche Subventionen werden laufend gekürzt. Organisatoren müssen deshalb ihre Strategien ändern oder ihre Pläne wegen „Mangels an Geld“ aufgeben. Die zunehmende Privatisierung des Sponsorings hat sich zu einer Situation entwickelt, in welcher nur noch Unterstützung verfügbar wird, wenn „Liebhaberei“ gefördert wird oder wenn ein Projekt in der breiten Masse Anklang findet und in der Bevölkerung auf Interesse stösst, d.h. populär wird. Man investiert hier in Kunst, in der Hoffnung, zukünftig mit solchen Anlagen Gewinn zu erwirtschaften oder Prestige innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu erwirken.

Wir hoffen, dass wir mit einem direkten Zugang zu einem interessierten und aufgeschlossenen Publikum mit unserem Querschnitt von Produktionen immer noch Menschen motivieren können, diese anzuhören, Freude daran empfinden etwas Neues zu entdecken und Traditionen anderer Kulturen zu respektieren. Wir suchen und brauchen eine breite Basis an Musik-Liebhabern, die unsere sorgfältig ausgewählten Produktionen geniessen wollen und unterstützen. Wir hoffen, auch weiterhin gemeinsam mit unseren Musikern an einer farbigen und kommunikativen Welt mitwirken zu können. Die Tradition hat sich in einer geschlossenen Kultur erhalten und sucht nun Brücken zu offenen Ohren.

Basis unserer Publikationen sind Feldaufzeichnungen in Archiven, die wiederbelebt oder von Altmeistern vorgetragen oder aufgenommen wurden. Solche dokumentierte Aufnahmen bilden Grundlagen für Projekte zu Konzerten oder Workshops, die einer neueren Generation zugänglich gemacht werden. Ein Beitrag, um Brauchtum und Tradition auf Basis ihrer Wurzeln am Leben zu erhalten. Einen Einblick in andere Völker und Kulturen mit deren Vielfalt zu vermitteln. Solche Publikationen müssten eigentlich in Archiven für Völkerkunde oder Musikschulen vorhanden sein und gefördert werden. Doch werden hier laufend Gelder gestrichen oder Abteilungen geschlossen. Die Musikindustrie an sich pflegt andere Interessen zu fördern.

Bis heute hat dieses Label traditionelle Musik aus Georgien, Armenien, der Ukraine, Ägypten, aus der Mongolei, Togo (Westafrika), Uganda (Ostafrika), Brasilien (Südbrasilien), Argentinien und Russland veröffentlicht.

Die Sammlung umfasst slawische und Kosakenlieder, gesammelt in Sibirien, Kehlkopfgesang der Turkvölker und Lieder aus der Mongolei, Loblieder der Stämme aus dem Altai und so weiter. Zusätzlich sind Informationen zu diesen Völkern und Kulturen und deren Lebensformen und Ritualen im Booklet beigelegt oder können auf unserer Homepage angesehen werden - z.B. Geschichte der Steppennomaden, Ritueller Maskentanz der Buddhisten (Tsam), Kunsthandwerk verschiedener Kulturen, Tengerismus oder Schamanismus (Religionen der indigenen Völker), Kunst der Steppenvölker, der Mongolen und im Buddhismus, Wanderungen der Bantustämme, Madi und Hamiten in Schwarzafrika. Archäologische Ausgrabungen im Raum Europas, Eurasiens und Asien der Steppennomaden.

Aktuelle Informationen im Web:

- Projekte Face Music – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/projectsen.html
- Unsere Freunde – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/ourfriends.html
- Ten Years Face Music –1987 bis 1997 – http://face-music.ch/catalog/tenyears_facemusicinfo.html
- Review Face Music – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/review_face.html
- Aktuelle Tourprojekte – http://face-music.ch/mainpages/tourprojects.html

Thalwil, Ende März 2012 - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner




Albi 19800


Albi 19880


Albi 19980


Albi 2006


Albi 2008


Albi 2010 – Berlin