Face Music - about Artists - Uganda

  • Quartet Nit – Ensemble Nit
    - Traditional music and dance from the Uganda people - East Africa




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


more information text available in German

Quartet Nit

Namulema Kigula Sylvia - voice and dance
Ritah Kobusingye - voice and dance
Israel Kalungi - voice, traditional instruments and dance
Jjemba Eric Lutaaya -
voice, traditional instruments and dance

With members from the Naggalabi Indigenous Theatre (NIT), a community of artists with a centre in Naggalabi for local, traditional and contemporary arts and crafts. The institution was founded by Sylvia Namulema Kigula and Eric Jjemba Lutaaya and is located in Nsangi su county Wakiso district, Uganda.


Israel, Sylvia, Ritah, Eric

Ensemble Nit

With members from the Naggalabi Indigenous Theatre (NIT), a community of artists with a centre in Naggalabi for local, traditional and contemporary arts and crafts. The institution was founded by Sylvia Namulema Kigula and Eric Jjemba Lutaaya and is located in Nsangi su county Wakiso district, Uganda.

Africa is inhabited by different ethnic groups, each with a musical tradition of its own. This is a rich traditional music heritage that has been orally transmitted from generation to generation for centuries. Despite external influences, the majority of these ethnic groups continue to value and practice their respective traditional musical styles, which in turn have to establish strong musical and cultural identities and continue to do so.

Ugandan music is generally rhythmic, and the complexity of these rhythms varies due to the difference between the ethnic groups. These differences are also reflected in the varied instrumentation. Some musical genres are played on simple instruments while others, especially the dance music, are played in ensembles of complex instrumental formation. African music is usually pentatonic, but a few tribes also use a hexatonic scale. Most of the Ugandan vocal music is accompanied by traditional instruments. The literature embedded in vocal music is purposely meant to transform the social communities, i.e. in their structural adjustment.

Although Uganda is inhabited by a large variety of ethnic groups, a broad linguistic division is usually made between the Bantu-speaking majority, who lives in the central, southern and western parts of the country and the non-Bantu speakers, who occupy the eastern, northern and north-western portions of the country (these may be sub-divided into Nilotic and Central Sudanic peoples). The first category includes the large and historically highly centralized kingdom of Buganda, the smaller western Ugandan kingdoms of Bunyoro, Nkore and Batooro, and the Busoga states to the east of Buganda. The peoples in the second category (they constitute less than one-tenth of the population) include the Iteso, Langi, Acholi, Alur, Karimojong, Kakwa, Jopadhola, Kumam, Sebei (Nilotic language groups) and the Metu, Madi, Lugbara and Okebu (Central Sudanic group) in the north and a number of other smaller societies in the eastern part of the country.

Folktales

Folktales define community; reflect the history, traditional values and accumulated wisdom. Every culture has its own collection of ancient and traditional stories that have been orally transmitted from generation to generation.
On this album, we present two tales from the Buganda region where Baganda women told these stories to the children in the evening after work and before they had to go to bed around a fire. In some of the stories, general animals, birds and plants have human characteristics (souls), by means of which they talk and develop relationships with humans. They have a supernatural element which allows them to perform tasks only in folktales.

Stories have always been very significant to the tradition and the culture of Buganda. The young generation has been taught about the past of their kingdom, they have learnt about their ancestors, cultural taboos, history, values of life, etc.
Traditionally, the stories or legends were a main source of education in the African life style, that involved participation, which was oral and it was the way to teach the young ones to use and to know almost everything about their culture, people and historical background.

Songs and Dances of Bantu Women

The music of women in Bantu tribes is quite often part of the fabric of expression, which tells us who they are, not individually, but as a group - not in challenge to their culture, but in harmony with and support of the dominant and dynamic patterns of their culture. The songs and dances can be understood fully only by a tribe member, but we can benefit from an approach that looks at the textual content, the style (which includes their approach to composing), and the function of the songs and dances.

Israel & Eric

Sylvia & Ritah


Israel

Israel

- see more photos about the Ensemble

- see map sketch of Uganda

- see map sketch of Uganda regions

Stageplan:
- Quartet Nit (quartet)

Latest CD:
- FM 50041 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. I
-
FM 50047 - Traditional music of the Bantu women and folktales of the Baganda women from Uganda - Vol. I
-
FM 50054 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. II
-
FM 50055 - Traditional music of the Bantu women from Uganda - Vol. II
-
FM 50056 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. III - Wedding and Gathering Songs
-
FM 50057 - Traditional music of the Bantu from Uganda - Twins rituals
-
FM 50058 - Traditional music of the Bantu from Uganda - Vol. III - Lullabies and Dirge songs
- FM 50100 - Special edition - three albums - Traditional Dances from Uganda - Vol. IV - Vi
- FM 50062 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. IV - Harvest Celebration and Social Gathering Songs
- FM 50063 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. V - Courtship and Wedding Dances
- FM 50064 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. VI - War and Ritual Dances

watch profile in

- (Bantu Women) - (Trad. music)

- (Bantu Women II) - (Trad. music II)

- (Trad. music III) - Trad. music Twins

- (Trad. Lullaby/Dirge) - Wedding song

watch profil in You Tube:



Review:
- published by Ethnotempos -2007

Instruments


adungu bass

- Adungu, Adeudeu - bow harp - arched harp - string instument

The adungu is a nine-string arched (bow) harp of the Alur people of northwestern Uganda. It is very similar to the tumi harp of the neighbouring Kebu people, and it is also used by the Lugbara and Ondrosi tribes in this northwestern region around the Nile. The harp is used to accompany epic and lyrical songs, and it is also used as a solo instrument or within ensembles. Players of arched harps have had a high social status and are included in royal retinues. Nowadays they also play in churches.

The adungu consists of an arched neck, a wooden resonator (sound box) in which the neck is fixed, and a series of parallel strings of unequal lengths that are plucked. The strings are fixed at one end to the resonator and run at an oblique angle to the neck, where they are attached and tuned with pegs.

The first, second, and third strings are tuned in octaves with the sixth, seventh, and eighth respectively. In traditional music the instrument is tuned in a pentatonic (five-note) scale, but it can also be tuned in modern style to a diatonic scale.

- Akadinda - Embaire - Entaara - Amadinda
xylophone - percussion instrument

The wooden keys of the various xylophones of the region can be resonated in various ways to amplify the tones. Resonators may take the form of small hollow objects beneath each key, a common sound box for all keys, or even a pit dug into the ground. In this last form, the keys lie parallel to one another over and across the pit, which is about 70 centimeters deep and almost two meters wide. The musician strikes the left-hand keys (the bass) with a mallet of fairly soft wood and the right-hand keys with a heavy crooked mallet made of extremely hard wood. The keys of a smaller version of this xylophone are set above a shallower pit. This smaller xylophone provides melodic and rhythmic ostinatos as a cue for the larger main xylophone, which plays different themes designed to persuade deities to dance at the ceremonies for the vodun (voodoo). A pair of rattles and an iron bell always complete a performance on this double xylophone, and the performance is often accompanied by song.



- Endingidi - Adigirgi - tube fiddle - one-string-fiddle - string instrument

This instrument is popular in the Buganda, Busoga, Ankole, Kigezi, western Nile, and Acholi regions. It consists of a single string, which is attached to a flexible stick and will sometimes have a resonator. Unlike other single-string instruments, it is played with a bow.



- Engalabi - long drum - percussion instrument

This traditional drum has a head made of reptile skin nailed to a wooden sound body. The engalabi from the Buganda region has an important roles in ceremonies and in theater. It is called "Okwabya olumbe". This is the installation of a successor to the deceased, thus the saying in Luganda (in Buganda a Bantu dialect) "Tugenda mungalabi", meaning we are going to the engalabi, that is, long drum. Rule in playing the drum is the use of bare hands.



- Engoma - Empuunyi - Uganda drum - percussion instrument

Embuutu; big drum, Empuunyi; bass drum.

While larger versions of this drum are traditionally hand-carved from old-growth hardwood trees, now these drums are made with pinewood slats tied together like barrels. Smaller drums are laminated and turned on a lathe and may be provided with a rope carrying the handle. All these drums have heads made from hide held by hardwood pegs hammered into the side of the drum.



PageTop

Face Music - about Artists - Uganda

  • Quartett Nit – Ensemble Nit
    - Traditional music and dance from the Uganda people - East Africa




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Text in German

Quartett Nit

Namulema Kigula Sylvia - voice and dance
Ritah Kobusingye - voice and dance
Israel Kalungi - voice, traditional instruments and dance
Jjemba Eric Lutaaya -
voice, traditional instruments and dance

- Mit Mitgliedern des Naggalabi Indigenous Theatre (NIT), einer Künstlergemeinschaft mit Zentrum in Naggalabi für lokale, tradiotionelle und zeitgenössische Kunst und Kunsthandwerk. Die Institution wurde von Sylvia Namulema Kigula und Eric Jjemba Lutaaya gegründet und befindet sich in Nsangi su county Wakiso Bezirk in Uganda.

Israel, Sylvia, Ritah, Eric

Ensemble Nit

- Mit Mitgliedern des Naggalabi Indigenous Theatre (NIT), einer Künstlergemeinschaft mit Zentrum in Naggalabi für lokale, tradiotionelle und zeitgenössische Kunst und Kunsthandwerk. Die Institution wurde von Sylvia Namulema Kigula und Eric Jjemba Lutaaya gegründet und befindet sich in Nsangi su county Wakiso Bezirk in Uganda.

Afrika ist von vielen verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen bewohnt, von welchen jede ihre eigene Musiktradition hat. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein reiches traditionelles musikalisches Erbe, das über Jahrhunderte hinweg mündlich von Generation zu Generation überliefert wurde. Trotz äusserer Einflüsse achten und pflegen die meisten dieser ethnischen Gruppen ihre traditionellen Musikstile weiterhin. Im Gegenzug führte und führt dies noch immer zu einer starken musikalischen und kulturellen Identität.

Ugandische Musik ist im allgemeinen rhythmisch, und die Komplexität dieser Rhythmen ist in jeder ethnischen Gruppe verschieden. Diese Unterschiede spiegeln sich auch in der unterschiedlichen Instrumentation wider. Einige Musikgattungen werden auf einfachen Instrumenten gespielt, während andere, insbesondere die Tanzmusik, von Ensembles in sehr differenzierter Formation gespielt werden. Afrikanische Musik ist üblicherweise pentatonisch, doch einige Stämme verwenden auch eine hexatonische Tonleiter. Ugandische Vokalmusik wird meist auf traditionellen Instrumenten begleitet. Die in dieser Vokalmusik eingebettete Literatur ist vorsätzlich dazu bestimmt, gewisse Aspekte, wie z.B. strukturelle Anordnungen, in sozialen Gemeinschaften zu wandeln.

Obwohl in Uganda viele verschiedene ethnische Gruppen leben, gibt es eine grobe linguistische Unterteilung zwischen der bantu-sprachigen Mehrheit, welche in Zentral-Uganda und den südlichen und westlichen Teilen des Landes lebt, und den nicht-bantu-sprachigen Bewohnern in den östlichen, nördlichen und nordwestlichen Gebieten Ugandas (die letzteren werden in Niloten und Zentral-Sudanvölker unterteilt). Zur ersten Kategorie gehört das grosse und historisch stark zentralistische Königreich Buganda, die kleineren westlichen ugandischen Königreiche Bunyoro, Nkore und Batooro und die Busoga Staaten östlich von Buganda. Zu den Völkern der zweiten Kategorie (sie machen weniger als ein Zehntel der Einwohner aus) zählen die Iteso, die Langi, die Acholi, die Alur, die Karimojong, die Kakwa, die Jopadhola, die Kumam, die Sebei (Nilotische Gruppen) und die Metu, die Madi, die Lugbara und die Okebu (Zentral-Sudan Gruppen) im Norden und einige kleinere Gesellschaften in den östlichen Teilen des Landes.

Volksgeschichten

Volksgeschichten sind das Merkmal einer Gemeinschaft, sie spiegeln die Geschichte, traditionellen Werte und über Generationen angehäufte Weisheiten wider. Jede Kultur besitzt ihre eigene Sammlung traditioneller Geschichten, die mündlich von einer Generation zur nächsten Generation übermittelt wurden.
Auf diesem Album stellen wir zwei Geschichten aus der Region Buganda vor, in welchen Baganda-Frauen diese Geschichten ihren Kindern jeden Tag nach der Arbeit und bevor diese ins Bett gehen müssen erzählen. In einigen Geschichten besitzen Tiere, Vögel und Pflanzen menschliche Eigenschaften (Seelen), mithilfe welcher sie sprechen und mit den Menschen eine Beziehung entwickeln können. Sie besitzen ein übernatürliches Element, wodurch sie nur in den Volksgeschichten Aufgaben bewältigen können.
Geschichten waren für die Tradition und Kultur in Buganda immer von enormer Wichtigkeit. Die junge Generation lernte dadurch über die Vergangenheit ihres Königreichs, sie wurden dadurch über ihre Vorfahren, kulturellen Tabus, historischen Lebenswerte etc. belehrt.
In der Tradition stellten die Geschichten oder Legenden eine Hauptquelle für die Erziehung im afrikanischen Lebensstil, in dem es um orale Teilnahme ging, dar, und auf diese Art und Weise wurde der jungen Generation Wissen über ihre Kultur, ihr Volk und ihren historischen Hintergrund nähergebracht.

Lieder und Tänze der Bantu-Frauen

Die Musik der Frauen in Bantu-Stämmen ist oftmals Teil eines Ausdrucks, der uns mitteilt wer, nicht individuell sondern als Gruppe, sie sind - nicht in Widerspruch zu ihrer Kultur sondern in Harmonie mit und durch Förderung der dominanten und dynamischen Muster ihrer Kultur. Die Lieder und Tänze können nur durch ein Stammesmitglied voll und ganz verstanden werden, aber auch wir können aus einem Ansatz, der sich mit dem textlichen Inhalt beschäftigt, dem Stil (der ihren Ansatz zur Komposition umfasst) und der Funktion der Lieder und Tänze, unseren Vorteil ziehen.

Israel & Eric

Sylvia & Ritah


Israel

Israel

- see more photos about the Ensemble

- see map sketch of Uganda

- see map sketch of Uganda regions

Stageplan:
- Quartett Nit (Quartett)

Latest CD:
- FM 50041 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. I
-
FM 50047 - Traditional music of the Bantu women and folktales of the Baganda women from Uganda - Vol. I
-
FM 50054 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. II
-
FM 50055 - Traditional music of the Bantu women from Uganda - Vol. II
-
FM 50056 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. III - Wedding and Gathering Songs
-
FM 50057 - Traditional music of the Bantu from Uganda - Twins rituals
-
FM 50058 - Traditional music of the Bantu from Uganda - Vol. III - Lullabies and Dirge songs
- FM 50100 - Special edition - three albums - Traditional Dances from Uganda - Vol. IV - Vi
- FM 50062 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. IV - Harvest Celebration and Social Gathering Songs
- FM 50063 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. V - Courtship and Wedding Dances
- FM 50064 - Traditional music from Uganda - Vol. VI - War and Ritual Dances


- (Bantu Women) - (Trad. music)

- (Bantu Women II) - (Trad. music II)

- (Trad. music III) - Trad. music Twins

- (Trad. Lullaby/Dirge) - Wedding song

watch profil in You Tube:




Review:
- published by Ethnotempos -2007

Instrumente


adungu bass

- Adungu, Adeudeu - Bogenharfe - Saiteninstrument

Die Adungu ist eine neunsaitige (gebogene) Harfe der Alur-Völker aus dem nordwestlichen Uganda. Sie ist der Tumi-Harfe der benachbarten Kebu-Völker sehr ähnlich, und sie wird auch von den Lugbara- und Ondrosi-Stämmen in dieser nordwestlichen Region rund um den Nil verwendet. Die Harfe wird verwendet, um epische und lyrische Lieder zu begleiten, und sie wird auch als Soloinstrument oder in Ensembles eingesetzt. Spieler der Bogenharfe besassen bereits immer einen hohen sozialen Status, und sie gehören auch zum königlichen Gefolge. Heute wird die Bogenharfe auch in Kirchen gespielt.
Die Adungu besteht aus einem bogenförmigen Hals, einem Resonanzkörper aus Holz, in welchem der Hals befestigt ist, sowie aus einer Reihe parallel geführter Saiten unterschiedlicher Länge, die gezupft werden. Die Saiten sind an einem Ende am Resonanzkörper befestigt und laufen in einem schiefen Winkel zum Hals hin aus, wo sie befestigt und mithilfe von Wirbeln gestimmt sind.
Die erste, zweite und dritte Saite sind in Oktaven mit der sechsten, siebten bzw. achten gestimmt. In der traditionellen Musik ist das Instrument pentatonisch (fünf Töne) gestimmt, es kann im modernen Stil aber auch in einem diatonischen Mass gestimmt werden.


- Akadinda - Embaire - Entaara - Amadinda
Xylophon - Schlaginstrument

Die Holzstäbchen der verschiedenen Xylophone der Region können auf verschiedene Art und Weise zur Resonanz gebracht werden, um die Töne zu verstärken. Die Resonanzkörper können die Form kleiner hohler Objekte unterhalb jedes Stäbchens annehmen, die Form eines gemeinsamen Resonanzkörpers für alle Stäbchen, oder sogar ein Loch, das in den Boden gegraben ist. In dieser letzteren Form liegen die Stäbchen parallel zueinander über dem Loch, das etwa 70 cm tief und beinahe zwei Meter breit ist. Der Musiker schlägt die linken Stäbchen (den Bass) mit einem Schlegel aus ziemlich weichem Holz und die rechten Stäbchen mit einem schweren und krummen Schlegel aus extrem harten Holz an. Die Tasten einer kleineren Version dieses Xylophons sind über einem flacheren Loch angeordnet. Dieses kleinere Xylophon liefert melodische und rhythmische Ostinatos als Stichnote für das grössere Hauptxylophon, das unterschiedliche Themen spielt, um die Gottheiten dazu zu überreden, anlässlich der Zeremonien für den Vodun (Voodoo) zu tanzen. Ein Paar Rasseln und eine Eisenglocke runden immer das Spiel dieses Doppelxylophons ab, und das Spiel wird auch oftmals von Liedern begleitet.


- Endingidi - Adigirgi - Röhrenfiedel - einsaitige Fiedel - Saiteninstrument

Dieses Instrument ist in den Regionen Buganda, Busoga, Ankole, Kigezi, westlicher Nil und Acholi bekannt. Es besteht aus einer einzelnen Saite, die an einem biegsamen Stock befestigt ist und manchmal einen Resonanzkörper besitzt. Anders als andere Einsaiteninstrumente wird diese Fiedel mit einem Bogen gespielt.



- Engalabi - Lange Trommel - Schlaginstrument

Diese traditionelle Trommel besitzt einen Kopf, der aus Reptilienhaut gefertigt und an einem hölzernen Resonanzkörper befestigt ist. Die Engalbi aus der Region Buganda spielt bei Zeremonien und im Theater eine sehr wichtige Rolle. Sie wird als "Okwabya olumbe" bezeichnet, d.h. Nachfolger eines Verstorbenen; es gibt in der Lugandasprache der Baganda das Sprichwort "Tugenda mungalabi", was so viel heisst wie, wir gehen zur Engalabi, d.h. "langes trommeln".
Beim Spielen der Trommel dürfen nur die blossen Hände verwendet werden.



- Engoma - Empuunyi - Ugandische Trommel - Schlaginstrument

(Embuutu; grosse Trommel, Empuuny; Basstrommel).

Während grössere Versionen dieser Trommel traditionellerweise aus alten Hartholzbäumen geschnitzt werden, sind diese Trommeln heute aus Kieferholzplatten gefertigt, die gemeinsam wie Fässer zusammengesetzt sind. Kleinere Trommeln werden auf einer Drehbank laminiert und gedreht und können einen Strick besitzen, um das Instrument zu tragen. Alle diese Trommeln besitzen Köpfe, die aus Haut gefertigt sind, die von Stiften gehalten wird, die in die Seiten der Trommeln gehämmert wurden.



PageTop